We have a new board line-up

With the start of a new year, we welcome a new line-up for the board of Young@Heart. This also means we say goodbye to Daan Westenbrink, who served as the chair in 2019. Daan has been involved in Young@Heart since 2016. In these years he has been highly committed to serving the interests of the community of young researchers, to generating new initiatives and concepts, and importantly, to connecting various groups.

His work included for example shaping the Crazy Idea grant and initiating joint activities with other young talent groups. His positive spirit, keen sense of humor and diplomatic skills made working with him a pleasure. We thank him for his commitment and contribution to Young@Heart and wish him the best of luck for the future.


Of course, the end of something is the start of something else. Therefore, we are happy that Diederik Kuster will be the new chair of the Young@Heart board in 2020. Diederik is an assistant professor at the department of Physiology of Amsterdam UMC. 

Additionally, Anthal Smits has resigned as board member, but he will continue to be involved in Young@Heart as a scientific council member. With two open positions in the board to fill, we are also pleased to announce that Monika Gladka-de Vries (Hubrecht Institute) and Martijn Hoes (UMCG) will join the board.

We are looking forward to an eventful and inspiring new year with you all!